Messi Triumphs Again: FIFA Best Men’s Player Award Goes to Inter Miami Star

Rate this post

In a thrilling conclusion to the FIFA Best Men’s Player award, Lionel Messi and Erling Haaland found themselves tied with 48 points each, as determined by a global panel of national team coaches and captains, selected journalists, and online fan votes. The tiebreaker came down to the number of first-place or “5-point” scores from the national team captains, where Messi prevailed with a resounding 107 to 64. Messi, now with Inter Miami after moving from Paris Saint-Germain, secured another prestigious accolade, showcasing his continued dominance in world football.

Notably absent from the awards ceremony were both Messi and Haaland, along with the third finalist, Kylian Mbappé. Messi’s successful year included leading Inter Miami, owned by David Beckham, to a Leagues Cup title, significantly boosting soccer’s popularity in the United States. This triumph added to Messi’s remarkable career, marked by numerous achievements, including his eighth Ballon d’Or win in October. Meanwhile, Haaland, a rising star, narrowly missed out on the top spot in a competition that highlighted the fierce talent present in the football world.

On the women’s side, Aitana Bonmatí, the 25-year-old Spain playmaker, claimed the FIFA Best Women’s Player award, building on her earlier honors such as the Ballon d’Or in October and a UEFA award in August. Bonmatí’s exceptional year saw her lead Spain to World Cup glory and guide Barcelona to the Champions League title, earning her recognition as the player of the tournament in both competitions. She expressed gratitude to her teammates and reflected on the uniqueness of the year, emphasizing the pivotal role they played in her success.

While the absence of the top male finalists at the awards ceremony may have raised eyebrows, the recognition of Messi and Bonmatí underscores their outstanding contributions to the sport and their respective teams, leaving a lasting mark on the soccer world in the past year.