Mascherano Announces Argentina’s Olympic Squad Featuring Four World Cup Winners

Rate this post

Lionel Messi, the iconic Argentine forward, will not feature in Argentina’s squad for the upcoming Olympic Games in Paris, starting later this month. Coach Javier Mascherano, who announced the team on Tuesday, has instead included four World Cup winners in his lineup, notably striker Julián Álvarez and defender Nicolás Otamendi. The men’s soccer tournament at the Olympics primarily features under-23 teams, with the allowance of three older players per squad.

At 37, Messi has been dealing with injuries this year and is currently focused on defending Argentina’s Copa America title, which they won in 2021. That triumph laid the foundation for Argentina’s World Cup victory in 2022. Messi’s sole Olympic appearance saw him clinch gold in Beijing in 2008. For Argentina, those senior spots have been filled by goalkeeper Gerónimo Rulli, Otamendi, and Álvarez, who will join the squad after the conclusion of the Copa America. Coach Mascherano himself is a two-time Olympic gold medalist, having achieved this feat as a player in 2004 and 2008.

Another notable addition to the squad is midfielder Claudio Echeverri, who recently signed with Manchester City from River Plate. In preparation for the tournament, Argentina will play two friendlies in France before their opening match against Morocco on July 24. They are grouped in Group B alongside Morocco, Iraq, and Ukraine. The blend of experienced World Cup winners and young talent aims to propel Argentina towards another successful Olympic campaign.

The squad for the Paris Olympics 2024 is as follows:


  • Leandro Brey (Boca Juniors)
  • Gerónimo Rulli (Ajax)


  • Marco Di Cesare (Racing Club)
  • Julio Soler (Lanus)
  • Joaquín García (Velez Sarsfield)
  • Gonzalo Luján (San Lorenzo)
  • Nicolás Otamendi (Benfica)
  • Bruno Amione (Santos Laguna)


  • Ezequiel Fernandez (Boca Juniors)
  • Santiago Hezze (Olympiacos)
  • Cristian Medina (Boca Juniors)
  • Kevin Zenón (Boca Juniors)


  • Giuliano Simeone (Atletico Madrid)
  • Luciano Gondou (Argentinos Juniors)
  • Thiago Almada (Botafogo de Brasil)
  • Claudio Echeverri (River Plate)
  • Julián Álvarez (Manchester City)
  • Lucas Beltrán (Fiorentina)